Why I Like Shin Chan More Than Family Guy

First and foremost, I’m not going to favor one show and debase the other. I really like Shin Chan and I really like Family Guy but since the time I was introduced to Shin Chan, I’m starting to look at it as the funnier, smartly written and favorable “family” show.

What attracts me to Shin Chan more is the novelty of the jokes. For example, there are no consistencies in term how the gag is presented to the viewers. In Family Guy, the formula started fresh but then it became redundant and honestly quite dull; it’s still stuck in the whole joke-followed by-flashback cliché. With Shin Chan however, expect the unexpected as each episode has a theme and each joke is centered on that particular theme.

Another thing I like about Shin Chan is the flexibility. You see, Shin Chan has been translated and dubbed in more than 13 languages, and it has been easily edited as well. Even though the content of the show is original, it is so straightforward and universal that allows more freedom to the writers to come up with jokes and gags that are recognizable in their respective culture and targeted audience. I for one completely in love with the recent English dub; the dialogue and humor are extremely adult-oriented, with many sexual contents, black humor with slight references to popular American culture. But I also get encouraged to watch the original Japanese that deals with many social issues within the Japanese culture, and thus experience the show in a whole different level. However, in order to appreciate Family Guy, you have to watch it in the original “McFarland version”. Also, bear in mind that the English dub of Shin Chan has to be approved by the Japanese produces first before it begins to air stateside.

In the end, it’s all about which type of jokes are suitable for your liking. Family Guy has the outrageous and albeit offensive feel, the “Oh my God I cannot believe he said that” kind of joke. Shin Chan is more like “how do they come up with these stuff” type of joke where some of the scenes are so uncomfortably true and the dialogue is slightly memorable and smartly funny. In the end, I adore both comedies but if I were stuck in the desert with one show to choose between the two, I pick Shin Chan without hesitation.

16 responses to this post.

  1. What i like about Family Guy is that they don’t limit or border themselves, everyone is a possible victim, they lay it out as it is without sweeteners, and their jokes are like punches to your stomach.

    “That was ’Me Farting by Chopin?’” (Stewie after accidentally farting while playing the French horn)

    I’d pick Family Guy over Shin Chan if i had to choose one. But like you said, Shin Chan deals with very real family issues, which i like, Shin Chan feels like real child in the show, the way he acts, and that’s genius, very real. At the end both Shin Chan and Family Guy are special in their own way.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sushi on April 9, 2008 at 10:19 am

    You mean when they dubbed Shin Chan they included different conversations from the Japs that are more compatible to the region they’re dubbed for? I dont watch dubs anyway.

    Reply

  3. Very interesting that this show is this comedic but presented in Japanese fashion. I don’t know how you have enough time when there is so much damn anime out there.

    Reply

  4. I don’t know what Shin Chan is so I’m going to pick Family Guy.

    Reply

  5. I’ll probably give Shin Chan a try, sounds like a very fun show!

    Reply

  6. @The M Code

    You hit the nail there M. And that’s one of many reasons I love Family Guy but lately it’s been getting quite “stale” if you know what I mean.

    @Sushi

    Yup but that’s shouldn’t discourage you of watching dubs, as long they are well preformed. For example, the british accent in Hellsing adds an exquisite flavor.

    @Marzouq

    I watch Shin Chan on Adult Swim every so often and when I’m browsing TV late at night by mistake.

    @Adorra

    Then make sure to watch it :P

    @N.

    That’s great N. Again just as I stated, both the Japanese and English dubs have different “handling” on the issues. Choose the one that seems suitable to your liking.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Spencer Williams on June 22, 2008 at 3:25 am

    I was fortunate last summer to see a panel at Comic-Con in San Diego consisting of the American writers for Shin Chan. They said they really try to have fun when it comes to writing the scripts, but they do have some limit of how outrageous it can be. One example was in the episodes that they were living in the crappy apartments, their next door neighbor who was always rehearsing parts for acting was dressed up like a ghost. One of their scrapped titles for the movie she was trying out for was “The Return of Anne Frank”, which they obviously thought was too offensive.
    Some areas they have to replace parts of the Japanese script that have puns that don’t translate over or references to Japanese pop culture.

    All in all, I definitely enjoy watching Shin Chan, but I am starting to see some of the jokes, especially sexual ones, become stale, like that whole “Lucky Bastard Special” that seemed to drag on too long.
    This is also a quality that has I’ve been observing in pretty much every new episode of Family Guy. It seems like there are so many jokes in the newer episodes seem like they just want to waste time. Aside from that, every character has completely changed, making the show more about their family’s dysfunction than anything else.

    Here’s my breakdown:
    I’d prefer any of the older Family Guy episodes over any Shin Chan episode, but I’d prefer any Shin Chan Episode over all but probably 2 of the new episodes of Family Guy.

    Reply

  8. @Spencer

    First of all, thank you so much for stopping in my blog and have the patience to go through my rumblings. And second, thank you again for posting such an informative comment. I’ve seen some interviews on AdultSwim.com where both the writers and the voice actors have shared their views and concerns regarding the edits. But man, that “Return of Anna Frank” sure would have been funny and insensitive at the same time.

    Your breakdown is probably the same as mine. You hit the nail at the head my friend :)

    Reply

  9. Posted by A. P. on August 4, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    I agree with you. Family Guy is a bit redundant at times. I admit, it was funny the first time I watched, but then 15 minutes into the show, I just couldn’t stand it anymore. The same “flashback” jokes over and over. And there’s really no storyline, they just shove jokes down your throat. With all due respect, I just don’t think it’s funny anymore….But that’s just my opinion of the show.
    On the flip-side. Shin Chan I think is a gem. Such crude and offensive humor and I love every minute of it. But you’re right, there’s a sense of family in it beyond the crass humor.

    …So I agree 100%- Shin Chan over Family Guy.

    Reply

  10. Posted by salmanilla99 on January 1, 2009 at 1:37 am

    does anyone know when new episodes of shin chan will be coming out. aside from that. i think shin chan is the smartest show to ever hit TV because of the types of jokes they use compared to any other show. family guy is good and all but shin chan makes you laugh for minutes.

    Reply

  11. i love shin chan because it is cute and joke boy

    Reply

  12. Posted by amit on May 26, 2011 at 3:58 am

    i like shin chan because he always open his pant…….

    Reply

  13. Posted by nivedita basu on July 15, 2011 at 11:20 am

    i like shinchan because of his voice and family and frendz!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  14. Posted by pooja on October 8, 2011 at 11:32 am

    pooja,and my sister chicku will like this show too much if we did not see shinchan
    we will get fever

    Reply

  15. its my faviorate cartoon

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

