Armpit Hair Dysfunction

3g.gif

One of the things that I don’t understand about Americans (and maybe Westerns in general) or in this case American men, is the armpit hair thing. I was sitting in class today and I couldn’t help looking at this guy on the other side of the class who was wearing a tank. He leaned back on his chair and stretched his arms upward and then literally a black forest of hair emerged from his armpits, or to put it in another way, millions of timy black people were like screaming for air (they were really long); I was literally about to puke when I saw this. I mean eww, what the hell is that about? Girls claim that armpit hair is sexy, but I wonder: what is sexy about it? I mean for the God sake if you want to keep it and look “sexy”, can you at least trimmer it a bit; or just shave it entirely.

So word of advice: Keep your armpit clean please.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anonymous Coward on April 4, 2007 at 12:53 am

    “Sexy” is a relative term that differs in every culture. Don’t be a bigot.

    Reply

  2. lol maskeen maybe he doesn’t have shaving cream or any trimming instruments? :p

    Reply

  3. ewww.. grossssssssss! I hate armpit hair.. it is created to be shaved!

    Reply

  4. “black forest of hair emerged from his armpits”
    i think i threw up in my mouth a little after reading, let the record show that i never got to the end of this post

    Reply

  5. Well to explain from some women’s point of view (I’m half Finn and half Kuwaiti)! Some women find a man that is full of hair sexy! Some got sick of looking at the men from their country that are so hairless! Then some darker men moved in and women went crazy about the body hair they had!

    As I was surprised of men who didn’t like women to shave in certain places because they thought that was simply disgusting! I remember in Kuwait if I didn’t wax my legs for 2 weeks and had few hairs on; my boyfriend went crazy and was asking when am I getting a wax done…

    If you see something beautiful and sexy doesn’t mean every one else will agree! Or does it now? 😉

    Reply

  6. Posted by azooz on April 6, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    ha ha ha ha ha ha wallah inta film looooooooooooooooool

    Reply

  7. @Coward

    To call me a bigot just because I have a feeling of disgust of armpit hair is such an absurd….whatever dude.

    @Swair

    I bet he doesn’t…maybe I should give him some 🙂

    @OpeRon

    “it is created to be shaved!”

    LOOOL so true. I started to shave them since I hit puberty 🙂

    @Laialy

    Hahaha wallah ma 2alomech ya Laialy. And you are excuses of not reading the post fully 😀

    @Nora-Cassandra

    Your observation definitely makes sense and I’m aware that some women love hairy men but some American men shave their front and back of their upper bodies (and that’s cool) but they totally neglect to shave their armpit (and that’s uncool to me). So that’s why I’m confused with all of this. And yes, Kuwaiti women (most of them at least) aware of their body hair even though they don’t show off skin that often (I assume their husbands prefer them completely hairless).

    @Azooz

    LOL eshyaybek eb blogy? LOL, yallah sawa film 😀

    Reply

  8. Coward, that is just plain wrong, you have no idea what the definition of a bigot is!

    Angelo I agree with you, at least trim the damn thing! That is what causes the arm pit to smell! I think its better clean!

    Reply

  9. @Marzouq

    Thanks for Marzouq for the support…I really appreciate it 🙂

    Exactly, hair is the culprit that causes stinky smells in the armpit area in the first place.

    Reply

  10. Posted by An Anthropologist on May 6, 2008 at 12:48 am

    “Exactly, hair is the culprit that causes stinky smells in the armpit area in the first place.” – Angelo

    A common misconception. It’s the sweat coming from apocrine glands which attracts bacteria and other microorganisms. This interaction, not the hair, produces the smell.

    Thus, one can’t just say “the thicker the armit hair, the stinkier.”

    By the way, views on armpit hair, from an anthropological perspective, are cultural (because of an old cultural view that armpit hair is one of the trademarks of the masculine physique and because of the various existing cultures and views which sometimes don’t agree with each other), biological (as armpit hair is one of the many natural “visual” stimuli that may arouse sexual desire), and geographical (considering people needing less or more hair to be able to adapt to the different topographies and climates of the world).

    So Anonymous Coward has a point. You, Angelo, may think that some people are weird because they think armpit hair is “sexy”, but some may also think that it’s YOU who’s weird because your thinking opposes their’s. It’s largely a matter of culture.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

