Pride & Prejudice’s Characters

pride_and_prejudice_character_map.png

-Click for full size-

Call me sentimental, but Pride & Prejudice is one of my favorite classic novels of all time. I’m really a huge fan of Jane Austen and I’m willing to read all her novels (so far, I read Sense & Sensibility, Emma, and of course P&P). Next week, we are supposed to write a comprehensive paper of Pride & Prejudice, and I’m planning to write an in depth character analysis of Mr. Darcy. It just the way his character transformers from this cool and tough gentlemen to a pathetic (not in a bad way) man who is desperate of Elizabeth’s love. Check out the figure above to find an interesting diagram depicting the interactions of Pride & Prejudice characters.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Missy-TheOriginal on April 11, 2007 at 6:09 am

    Angeloooooo!!!! Pride&Prejudice is without exaggeration the best novel in the world!! I love Jane Austen so much and I love this book even more! I read it so many times!!! In my library I even own many versions of it- from different publishing companies! You absolutely MUST watch the BBC version of P&P and don’t even THINk about watching the hollywood recent flick- Blukh!

    Mr Darcy is my dream guy!!! He’s proud, educated, seductive and kind hearted! I love how he tells Elizabeth Bennet the difference between “Vanity” and “Pride”; How pride is not something wrong if you have what it takes to be proud!

    Oh Angelo!!! It is my dream to finally get my PhD to teach this kind of stuff! I love the Victorian elegance, sense of morality, simplicity and how pure, beautiful and innocent love is. Mr. Darcy’s love for Elizabeth is not desperate at all!! It is beautiful because he is so proud he couldn’t express it- he tried to conquer it but couldn’t- and when he finally confessed it, you FEEEEEL the frustration of it because it’s something GRAND for a man of his position to do! I loved how he takes care of her without her even knowing! His love is so pure and beautiful for her- he’s a true gentleman- He went against his society’s conventions, mentality and family to finally be with her! And I find it charming how her hate for him changed for love when she started getting to know his personality and goodness- so if you think about it the pride and prejudice are two characteristics that each one of these characters possess- at some points it is lizzy who’s proud and at other it is him and the same goes to prejudice. Because they both possess wonderful personalities, you get this heated suspense throughout the novel- WHEN THE HELL ARE THEY GONNA GET TOGETHER!!!! ehehhehehe…

    Sorry I got carried away but seriously I can talk about this book forever!! Ever since I was just a teenager this book has been a refuge, inspiration and a source of comfort for me! Thank you for writing about it hehehe… =)

    Reply

  2. i had to read p&p for school and man did my teacher make it a NIGHTMARE
    sucked anything good out of it
    so now everytime i hear the title i cringe

    Reply

  3. i really enjoyed the movie
    and i’ll probably will never read the book -_-

    Reply

  4. not a huge fan lol

    Reply

  5. Posted by p&p fan on April 12, 2007 at 7:04 am

    I love pride and prjudice too!!! I must say youy have very good taste indeed!!

    Reply

  6. @Missy

    Missyyyyyyyyyy, you gave me tons of info and impression of Mr. Darcy and P&P; that’ll sure help me writing my paper. I never got the BBC version but will do inshallah and I thought that the “Kira Knightly” version was an excellent adaptation. That was an interesting read Missy, no need to apologize. Million thanks 😀

    @Eshda3wa

    Damn that school teacher of yours LOOOL.
    For me, every time I heard its title, I mesmerized about Kira Knightly 🙂

    @Laialy

    Well at least you know what’s the story is about and the movie illustrated the book perfectly…so no need to read the book I guess.

    @Swair

    LOOL you should give it a try or at least watch the movie 🙂

    @P&P Fan

    Thanks for noticing…it’s a damn good book, I love it.

    Reply

  7. Posted by cixousianpanic on April 16, 2007 at 11:28 am

    P&P is a superb piece of writing for sure. I loved reading the book, I loved watching the BBC rendition, and I loved the newest movie with Keira Knightly.

    I dunno if you might be interested but there’s a new novel out called Mr. Darcy and it’s supposed to look at the events of the novel through the perspective of Darcy. Personally, I wanted to read it and then hesitated, even though I’ve read so many books that followed the same idea, including Wide Sargasso Sea (which takes Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre and views the events from the perspective of Antoinette Cosaway -the first and ‘mad’ wife of Mr. Rochester) and Ahab’s Wife (which follows the events of the Una, the wife of Captain Ahab of the novel Moby Dick), among others. They were all really really really good, but I couldnt bring myself to read the Darcy one because I think Austin did a great job portraying him and I wouldn’t wanna change his image by reading another book about him.

    ;p

    Reply

  8. @Cixousianpanic

    Woah…I didn’t know such a book existed. I’m gonna check it either way and if it was cool, I’ll let you know so you can buy it. Let’s hope they don’t miss up Mr.Darcy too much.

    Reply

  9. Posted by BRI on May 5, 2008 at 9:08 am

    I LOVED PRIDE AND PREJUDICE. THE MOVIE WAS VERY TOUCHING AND THE ENDING ALMOST MADE ME CRY!!!! I MUST READ SOMETHING ELSE BY JANE AUSTEN AND ASAP.

    Reply

  10. It was hard to find your blog in google.
    You should create some hi PR contextual backlinks in order to
    rank your website. I know – writing articles is very time consuming, but contextual backlinks are the best type of backlinks.
    I know very useful tool that will help you to create unique, readable content in minute, just
    search in google – masagaltas free content

    Reply

  11. Great articles you post here, i have shared this post on my twitter

    Reply

Leave a Reply

