Book Review: The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead

6a00c2251daa4a604a00c2251ddfaef219-500pi.jpg

Max Brooks has put together a rather unique book that it’s simply impossible to classify. It is part field guide, part arcane zombie history book, and part disaster-training manual. It also manages to keep things serious enough to make you wonder if what it’s talking about is real. I began to wonder if Brooks actually believed what he was writing, and that’s a big plus point in the book’s favor. The first chapter was thrilling, as we become to discover the microorganism called “Solanum” that gives life to the undead. The second and third chapters were infused with tension and urgency regarding the weapons and armors we should be equipped with if we ever wondered in the world of the undead. After an extensive discussion of survival in a zombie doomsday scenario, he lays out zombie outbreaks through history, and what their implications to the people and to the different regions. After finishing this book, I’m so buying Max Brook’s World War Z; I have become such a fan of his works.

Those who are considered avid fans of humor and zombies are into something special here; it’s an amusing book from start to finish that will leave you surprisingly terrified if such an outbreak happened. However if God’s forbid there was such a thing, I have already a survival book to help me out to live between the undead.

~Rating~

rating_5star_35.gif

4 responses to this post.

  1. For some reason I just pictured you with a pot on your head and garbage can cover in one hand and a crow bar in the other! hehehehehe! Seems entertaining! I will be checking it out for sure!! I’m reading a good fantasy book right now too!

    Reply

  2. Definitely will consider it!

    Reply

  3. @Marzouq

    Hahaha well who knows I might armed myself with a pot and a can when the times come; although according to Brooks that won’t do me any good. Yeah, I have been following your posts and you certainly bought a lot of fantasy books…but give this one a try and see if it strikes you interest.

    @N.

    I think you will love it if you are fan of zombie movie or Resident Evil games in general.

    Reply

  4. Posted by EducatedPoet06 on May 11, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    I have not even read the book yet but have been from cover to cover gleaming information and lists from this book. The reason I was led to it was from a website that highly regards it… http://www.zombiesurvivalwiki.com/ I know that as soon as I get a chance I will be reading this book from cover to cover… Max Brooks… YOU ROCK! lol…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

