Review: Whisper Of The Heart

b000cdgvoo01lzzzzzzz.jpg

It is safe to say that today’s 3D animation blockbusters look absolutely fantastic, yet they lack substance that easily make them forgetful after awhile. However this 1995 animation film (re-mastered in English in 2006) by the legendary animator Hayao Miyazaki truly redefines the pure elegance and depth that every animation movie should deliver. Honestly, this is just about the best coming-of-age story ever made (or at least I have got to know), full of vigor and wonder, full of the spark of youth. I certainly can’t think of a film that’s as dizzyingly lovable and sincere as Whisper of the Heart. And I certainly can’t imagine anyone walking away from this picture without feeling elated, eager to grab as many friends as possible for another showing. This is not a movie driven by plot, but about discovery and experience, and learning to test oneself. There are romantic interests, but nothing approaching the clichéd movies that we have come to know. It is story about determination, innocence of the youth, discovering dreams and goals, and obviously first true love. The animation is superb especially since it is a 12-year-old movie that is filled with great details in characters’ facial expression and background. The soundtrack is heart-warming especially with the inclusion of John Denver’s song “Country Road” and the English voice acting is well preformed with a great cast of Hollywood celebs. It is certainly a movie that you want to watch it over and over again.

whisper.jpg

Whisper of the Heart is truly one of Miyazaki’s finest. Don’t think of the movie as a typical anime movie nor as a teenager romantic comedy; it is absolutely more than that. It is a movie that leaves you smiling and awakens the youthful spirit in you. I highly recommend this film because it has something for everyone, young and old. Watch it today.

The Bottom Line
A

9 responses to this post.

  1. wow an “A”
    this must be good and since we have almost the same taste in TV and movies i’ll have to give this a watch
    for some reason it reminds me of Saly and lady which i used to watch when i was really young :/

    Reply

  2. Posted by Missy-TheOriginal on June 23, 2007 at 6:00 am

    Hayao Miyazaki’s animes are wonderful. I used to love Kiki’s delivery service when I was little, and I am so happy to hear of this one because I havent watched it yet. I totally agree with you Angelo. With all the 3d and mecha-techno rave lately, people forget how beautiful simple anime artworks and stories used to be. Even Disney for that matter, older presentations used to have depth more than new ones. I’ll look for it soon =)

    Reply

  3. I know its a fantastic anime, I have something coming up which I had to give it an A because of how intense an anime it was!! I really wasn’t expecting it!! But this is a wonderful anime and I know what you mean!! Good feeling at the end!

    Reply

  4. I’ll give it a shot. I haven’t watched spirited away either! I think I’ll try to get both. They definitely seem like worth watching.

    Reply

  5. Hmm, this film sounds great. I’ve never been a Miyazaki fan – I find his character designs a little off-putting (even in recent films like Howl’s Moving Castle) – but he’s an acknowledged master of his craft and I’d be remiss in my duty as an anime fan not to at least give his work a try. Which of his films would you recommend as a first course?

    Reply

  6. @Laialy

    LOL I know what you mean and I’m a big fan of the “Sally Style” anime.
    I dunno if you gonna love it as much as I did but you will like it definitely.

    @Missy

    Exactly. If you asked anyone, the most memorable cartoons are the 2D ones. I love the innocence in Kiki’s and this one has the same vibe…you will adore it.

    @Marzouq

    I’m looking forward to your anime that you are talking about…I wonder what it is LOL.

    @N.

    Spirited Away is a must really…it is one of my favorite movies of all time. Watch Spirited Away, then Howl’s Moving Castle…you will like them a lot.

    @Diego

    Actually I love his style and designs…sometime I get sick from watching big-eyed characters LOL.

    I recommend watching Spirited Away and then Princess Monohoke.

    Reply

  7. Posted by vixenfatale on August 14, 2007 at 4:04 pm

    I really loved this movie, it was truly heartwarming, and the best part is that Baron is in it n___n! Have you seen The Cat Returns? You have too it’s as equally amazing(its kind of a sequel but not really I dont want to spoil it just case you haven’t seen it) And so is My Neighbor Totoro n__n I just love them all !!

    Reply

  8. everyone likes to watch dvd movies, i watch at least 4 dvd movies a day :-*

    Reply

  9. God!! m so upset i can’t its dvd anywhere :/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

