Midsummer Night’s Dream

08102007656.jpg

Yesterday I went to the Shakespeare Festival that our university usually holds during the summer. I wanted to watch a Shakespeare play that I didn’t read about, so I picked the romantic comedy “Midsummer Night’s Dream”. The whole play was preformed on an outdoor theater just like the way it used to be preformed during the Elizabethan era. It was kinda cool but the chairs weren’t comfortable enough but they were totally manageable. The play started at 8:35PM and finished roughly around 11PM with a 20 minutes intermission.

However, I have to say that was one of the funniest Shakespeare’s plays I have ever seen or heard. The best part is the “play on play” part, and the funniest character was Nick Bottom. The performance was excellent, although I couldn’t help but to notice that some of the actors slipped on their British accent. Nevertheless, the whole evening was unforgettable and I had tons of fun. Unfortunately, I couldn’t take couple of pictures of the performance because taking pictures wasn’t allowed, but I manage to take a picture of the stage during the intermission.

4 responses to this post.

  1. interesting, i need to be in a scene like that

    Reply

  2. Posted by vixenfatale on August 13, 2007 at 5:50 pm

    It reminds me of Shakespeare’s Globe theatre in London, except there it is truly a recreation of 16th c. Elizbethan times, because there are no chairs at all ! 😀

    Reply

  3. Sweet Maya of God! That’s the coolest thing ever!

    *sings “William Shakespeare wrote a play a long, long time ago.. about this chick named Hermia and two guys who wanted her for their own.
    They said “Hermia, please be my girl”.
    But she only wanted one! Its the night when fairies come out to play.. its the night we all have fun!”*

    Did I ever tell ya’ I like Shakespeare? 🙂

    Reply

  4. @Laialy

    And I think you will be great. I guess dramatic roles suit you the best.

    @Vixenfatale

    WOW, now that’s I wanna see.

    @Maya

    LOL excellent.

    That’s remind me the first time I heard her name. I thought they said “Hernia”, I was like What the hell? Thankfully, my friend was there to correct me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

