Fall Readings

snapshot20071006012710nd1.png

From today, I have officially finished all my books that I intended to read for the summer, and before you notify me, yes I realize that summer was over long time ago but my super-packed schedule didn’t help me to finish them in time. Anyway, I went to Boarders today and stocked up with several books to read for the fall.

A Thousand Splendid Suns: Two weeks ago I finished Hosseini’s The Kite Runner in less than a week and that’s a record time for me. I’m going to jot down my review for this phenomenal book shortly. If The Kite Runner is any indication then I’m probably going to devour this book in a record time too.

The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat: Although, I didn’t pick this book voluntarily because it is required for one of my classes, but I heard about it for quite some time now, and I’m glad my professor chose this book out of many psychology-related novels to read for this semester. According to my professor, it has a nice sense of humor and the author accumulated the most fascinating clinical, psychological tales in one short book, so it must be good.

Twilight (Book #1): Apparently, the third book has released not too long ago and it is currently a bestseller. All I know about this novel is that it involves vampires and…romance, and both aspects compliment each other beautifully as many people stated. I’m not currently psyched about it so I’m probably going to leave it until the very last.

Love In The Time Of Cholera: Today, Oprah has selected this book as part of her book club selection and she couldn’t stop raving about. So you can say that I bought this book out of hype, but then again, whatever blows Oprah’s skirt up must be good…right?

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Missy-TheOrginal on October 6, 2007 at 3:12 am

    Oh yes!!! The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat!! I heard so much about it, I heard it’s really good. I’m not fond of psychological novels though so I didn’t buy it. By the way, not necessarily that writers would strike it twice. For example I just bought Burning Bright by Tracy Chevalier. “A girl with a pearl earing” and “Virgin blue” and even the Unicorn were amazing. I love her ability to mix history with art but her last book is a total disappointment. Not trying to put it down though, it might be really good. Will wait for your review!

    Reply

  2. A lot of hype about A Thousand Splendid Suns. I’m sure its great. Going to read it soon, after I’m done with MY summer reading!

    Reply

  3. I’ll be looking forward to your reviews. I’m always up for a good book.. especially if time permits!

    Reply

  4. @Missy

    Well as I am reading this book regularly for my class, I have to say it is one of the best “textbook” I have ever read for a class. I won’t review it though LOL.

    @This Lady Says

    I have to say it lives its hype and a very nice tragic read.

    @N.

    Good. I’m glad my reviews are helping someone somewhere šŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

