CD Review: Asala – Sawaha Galbi

untitledfront.jpg 

Asala’s new album Sawaha Galbi (My Heart Did It) has met with a myriad of reactions from her fans; some of them loved it and others didn’t like it all. The reason of this conclusive spilt lays on the tune and dialect that Asala has chosen to promote her 2007 album: the album from the ground up is comprised of Khaliji dialect. It is important to note that this is not Asala’s first attempt to sing in a Khaliji dialect. The most prominent difference from her previous Khaliji album, Awgat [Times], is Asala’s work with some newer and younger talent. However, the question here, did she make a mistake by choosing this path again, or does this new Khaliji flavor prove that she is capable of mastering any dialect with ease? The answer is simply the latter.

Asala beautifully uses her strong, talented voice in conveying the Khaliji lyrics into powerful emotions that can either be upbeat or cheerless. The album also demonstrates the smart correlated use of Khaliji and modern instruments that perfectly introduces the Khaliji melody to those who are not familiar with it. However, just like Asala’s prior works, few of the songs suffers from extreme high notes that overshadows the instruments completely, and the slow pacing of couple of songs make them an absolute torture until the song come to an end. Nevertheless, I consider this album as one of her finest yet, and probably one of the best albums of this year.

Definite Downloads

  1. La Tekhaf (Don’t Be Afraid) 
  2. Kelmet Shokor (Word of Gratitude)
  3. Somokh Ezi (The Highness of My Pride)
  4. Sawaha Galbi (My Heart Did it)

~Rating~

rating_5star_4.gif 

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sushi on November 5, 2007 at 10:36 am

    I used to like her but lately mani gadra at7amal asma3 9ot’ha madri laish and the annoying this is that she’s on the FM 24/7, especially during rush hours which only causes anger rush in my brain and more catastrophes on the road!!!!! =P

    Reply

  2. I really do like Asalahs work, I think she is a very talented singer. Thanks for the downloads!

    Reply

  3. @Sushi

    I know what you mean. Sometimes her voice is so high that it becomes “nishaz” and gives you constant headaches rather than soothing you down.

    @Marzouq

    You are welcome. Glad you find them enjoyable 🙂

    Reply

  4. salam sava

    Reply

  5. Posted by bea on February 21, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    i have heard other singers like nancy ajram and haifa oh god! what a horrible voice//my opinion asala is one of the best of many singers around the world. out there are millions of singers but very few talented souls.

    Reply

  6. you’ve should add Talabtik and my favorite song in the album “Omniya” 😛

    Reply

  7. salam
    I’m looking for partner for my network.
    My page is for Arab artists, insiders, fans and music lovers.
    wasalam

    Reply

  8. I LOVE ASALA ESPECIALLY THE SONG WALLAH MA THADA… OMG I LOVE THAT SONG AND I SAW HER LIVE AT THE MGM GRAND SAT NOV 21 WOW WHAT A SHOW … I LOVED IT AND I SAT NEXT TO HER AT THE $200 TABLES OF BLACK JACK AND LOVED IT .. ON MY WEBSITE I HAVE PICTURES , HER SIGNING GAVE ME INSPARATION TO SING IN ARABIC , XOXO jessiv2006@myspace.com

    Reply

  9. Posted by JoJo yemenia on March 19, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    Shes a very good singer….she is one of the top 10…in my list

    Reply

Leave a Reply

