Don’t Finger My Pizza Please!

pizza-finger.jpg

Couple of days ago, I was visiting a friend of mine, and we were hanging out before we hit the movie theater later that night. We decided to order a pizza and “dine in” before we head to the movies. 40 minutes later, the delivery guy arrived and my friend opened the door and did something that I don’t usually do, or better yet, never. Before he handed the money over, he opened the pizza box (in front of the delivery guy) and placed his finger in one of the pizza slices for a brief moment, and then smiled and gave the delivery guy his money. He closed the door and a conversation initiated:

Me: What the hell was that?

Him: What do you mean?

Me: The whole “finger in the pizza” thing.

Him: Oh, well I was measuring the heat of the pizza. Don’t tell me you have never done that before?

Me: Honestly I haven’t. And if I did, I would definitely make sure not to do it in front of the deliveryman.

Him: Then how do you determine the amount of the tip?

Me: Well I usually follow a strict “2$ tip” policy even if the driver was late. Usually they acknowledge it if they were late, and give me the food for free. Besides, most deliverymen and deliverywomen are college students, so I think it’s nice to tip them generously regardless.

Him: Look, I just hate cold food that’s all. And I just want to make sure I received my food hot and sizzle.

Then he handed me a plastic plate with a slice of pizza on it.

Me: Aa’. This one has your fingerprint in it. Hand me another slice and you can have this one. I just hate my food fingered that’s all.

13 responses to this post.

  1. Haha, that’s quite a way to measure tip! We usually just check if we got the right pizza, sometimes they mess up the orders and it really sucks to get something you didn’t order!

    Reply

  2. LOL!! I would never do that! Bas it’s a good way though 😉

    Reply

  3. Hahahaha! I would never do that, I have seen it done for pizza from a microwave but not delivery! And I usually go pick up the pizza to make its a quicker delivery!

    Reply

  4. lool well he does have a point… i wouldnt do that either. I mean by the time the first slice is over and u get started with the second, it would have gotten cold anyway.. plus pizza is good hot or cold… and as marzouq said, a few seconds in the microwave would solve the problem

    Reply

  5. Posted by Sushi on November 5, 2007 at 8:02 am

    looooooooooooool I would love to see the finger poking the pizza

    Reply

  6. Would it so hard to microwave/oven if necessary? :/

    Reply

  7. I’ve never heard of pizza fingering before. Interesting.

    Reply

  8. Posted by whatigotsofar on November 5, 2007 at 1:03 pm

    Here’s how I determine pizza delivery guy tips. I just round up to the nearest five dollar increment.

    And if the pizza is at an unsatisfactory temperature, that’s what the toaster oven is for. Never never never never microwave a pizza.

    Reply

  9. Posted by hotgrits on November 5, 2007 at 2:43 pm

    i work at a pizza place and i’ve seen that done before, quite gross

    Reply

  10. your friend is strange o_O

    Reply

  11. Posted by vixenfatale on November 7, 2007 at 4:17 pm

    That’s really horrible lol! Glad u tip them anyhow, i feel bad for them n__n
    *feels like having pizza*

    Reply

  12. @N.

    Yes, I do that sometimes especially when I fear my Pizza has beacon in it.

    @Chika

    It is a practical method but it is not something I would endorse on myself.

    @Marzouq

    Exactly, I do the whole finger thing privately and whenever I heat my pizza or my hot pockets but never in front of a stranger.

    @Fonzy

    I actually love cold pizza even though it is considered unhealthy than a hot pizza.

    @Sushi

    LOOL trust me, you don’t wanna see that 🙂

    @3baid

    That’s my point….Allah ye5ale el microwave.

    @Abarclay

    LOL and I’m not surprised that you haven’t…apparently it’s a popular method that my friend usually does.

    @What I Got So Far

    That’s a very rational way to determine your tip…and I agree the oven is more ideal for heating a pizza than microwave especially if you aren’t in a hurry.

    @Hot Girl

    Thank you. I’ll tell my friend that his method usually gross those who work at delivery.

    @G.

    LOL he is strange only in this part 😉

    @Vixenfan

    LOOL

    I say go and have a pizza right now…how about Express Pizza? I really miss it since we don’t have it here 😦

    Reply

  13. Ewwww fingering the pizza sounds gross.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

