Kuwaitis & The Cheesecake Factory

cheesecake.jpg

One of things that increased my fascination while studying abroad is Kuwaitis’ love for the restaurant The Cheesecake Factory. For those of you who aren’t familiar with the restaurant, The Cheesecake Factory is famous for its upscale casual dining atmosphere and the extensive menu that offers more than 200 selections of appetizers, pizza, pasta, seafood, steaks, salads, and sandwiches. Of course, not to mention it’s diverse assortment of cheesecake such as the Original Cheesecake, Chocolate Mousse Cheesecake, Vanilla Bean Cheesecake, Oreo Cheesecake, Caramel Pecan Cheesecake, and so on.

Now, here is the thing. Despite that the Cheesecake Factory offers almost anything that might come to mind (they even offer kebabs), most of these dishes are mediocre in taste at best. That is, they don’t offer the best pasta dish, or the best chicken entrée around; you even forget the taste before you leave the restaurant. Now, that doesn’t mean it’s a bad place to dine in, it’s just as I mentioned above: it’s mediocre. What fascinates me however, is why Kuwaitis keep going to this place whenever they don’t know where to dine in? I developed couple of hypothesis and here are some of them:

  • Kuwaitis are known for their unfixed taste buds. Sometimes, it is better to go to a place where it offers an array of dishes just so you can shut everybody’s up, instead of nagging over a specific restaurant that offers a specific cuisine.
  • Kuwaitis, in general, have eyes bigger than their stomach. They tend to order too many appetizers in which they completely fill in before their main entrees arrive. Thus, they love to debate over a limited selection of the appetizers, but their arguments usually fail and wound up ordering half of the appetizer menu. Cheesecake Factory is one of the few restaurants that offer that opportunity.
  • Kuwaitis, most of the time, value the atmosphere more than the food, and usually Cheesecake Factory is located in a nice indoor mall, which makes it an ideal place to dine in after a long day of shopping.
  • Kuwaitis love cheesecake. End of the sentence.
  • Cheesecake Factory isn’t very cheap nor overly expensive, which makes it the perfect place to hold a “dinner activity”. A quick search at their “activities” in NUKS.ORG and you will discover what I mean.

Now, you might ask me, what the hell I’m babbling about? I don’t know really, I’m just sharing my thoughts. And you might ask, do I love this place? My answer would be yes because; I am a Kuwaiti after all. Another question would be, do I want this restaurant to be imported to Kuwait? Yes, that would be awesome. And finally, you might ask, would I be a frequent customer if the restaurant got imported? No, because I love to discover new places to dine in and probably it would have too many Kuwaitis to handle in one place.

14 responses to this post.

  1. Their food actually tastes good. I love that place. Their salads are very yummy. After I looked up how many calories in their Godiva Chocolate Cheesecake, I decided to boycott them.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sushi on January 16, 2008 at 8:15 am

    I dont want Cheesefactory to be imported to Kuwait. My aunt & uncle took me to Spaghetti Factory in Denver when I went to visit them, I want THAT restaurant to be important. Best pasta and meatballs ever and cute trains to eat in too.

    Reply

  3. madri laish ma iyebona, someone once told me ina yabon se3er khayali for the franchise.

    Reply

  4. I really do like Cheese Cake Factory, they have a pretty good philli cheese steak sandwich! And a few other dishes, overall they have good food and appetizers!

    Reply

  5. Posted by pink on January 16, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    their food tasted better 10 yrs ago..now this summer i tried the denver branch and i didt really like it that much…i tried thru the yrs diff branches(fresco,seattle,vegas,chicago which was the best one by far and lastly denver)

    Reply

  6. i was suprised ina they have it in saudia! i wouldn,t mind it. and true we loved that place, we spent our nashats there!
    and shopa your right, one of there cheescakes has 1250 calories, it should be illeagel to eat it!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Lonely_ed7 on January 18, 2008 at 5:55 am

    to be honest .. i didn’t try this restaurant .. but i heared about it alot .. so i tried to find away to have its franchise .. i found that they don’t offer franchise opportunities .. and that was disappointing

    as for the one in KSA .. i didn’t see it but i have a feeling that it is a fake one .. coz i did’t find a KSA branch in the restaurants’ website!!

    Reply

  8. When I first heard about it sounded like a “habba” you know. I don’t think I ever tried it, if I have then I don’t really remember.

    Reply

  9. @Shopa

    LOL yes I do remember my shock when I checked the amount of calories they had in most of their dishes. Fortunately, they have weight management dishes which actually tastes quite good with 560 calories per serving.

    @Sushi

    Spaghetti Factory you say? Denver you say? That’s kinda close to where I live. I’m so going there next week.

    @Enigma

    That wouldn’t be fair since I see no difference in the prices between our branches (i.e. Chillis, Applebee’s) and theirs.

    @Marzouq

    Yes, I am a big fan of their appetizers especially the fried macaroni-and-cheese. They are so delectable and delicious. I’m just saying that I have tasted better, entree-wise.

    @Pink

    Really? They taste quite good in Boulder (which is in Colorado also).

    @Nova62

    Do they really have it in Saudi Arabia? That’s quite a surprise.

    @Lonely_ed7

    That’s what I thought exactly. I checked their website and they don’t seem have branches in other countries…which is a bad policy if you asked me.

    @N.

    Oh it is “habba” alright…but a good one though.

    Reply

  10. Nice idea!

    Reply

  11. Posted by Farawla on January 19, 2008 at 11:59 pm

    I dont know about other Kuwaitis, but I fell in love with it instantly. The atmosphere is amazing in there, its SO pretty and chick! Other restaurants of its class cannot pass off the same feeling I get when I go in there.

    About the food, I think it offers dishes that even traditional Kuwaitis can eat. A lot of Kuwaitis havent gotten around to the whole sea food craze that has been going on, me being one of them, so this is the best choice – pleases everyone. Thats also why you always find most of them in Italian restaurants.

    There was an attempt to bring it to Kuwait but they refused because they make most of their profit off drinks.

    Reply

  12. […] Kuwaitis & The Cheesecake Factory ? Final HavenCome to Citysearch to get information, directions, and reviews on Cheesecake Factory and other 4-Star Restaurants in Nashville. […]

    Reply

  13. […] Kuwaitis & The Cheesecake Factory ? Final HavenCheesecake Factory Cheesecake. Created by admin, Sunday, 16 January 2000 Average user rating vote image vote image vote image vote image / 4 2 Users Voted … […]

    Reply

  14. Posted by Q8ya on June 8, 2008 at 1:00 am

    i’m with you on that one. it sounds so much like what i would say..it feels like i wrote it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

