Mustafa Baba!

sultan_pardons_scheherazade.jpg

This is a part of a conversation I had with a fellow classmate. I’m not going to bore you on how we started discussing about the following topic but this is the most interesting part, I think.

Her: I love Middle-Eastern tales. Mustafa Baba & The Forty Thieves is my favorite.
Me: Ahhh, you mean Ali Baba.
Her: (exclaimed) YES! Ali Baba. Wait, then who is Mustafa Baba?
Me: I don’t think there is a Mustafa Baba. I don’t think there was ever a Mustafa.
Her: You don’t say.
Me: (nodes)
Her: Hmmm, then who’s Aladdin? Or is he a figment of my imaginations?
Me: No, you got him right. He is the one with the magic lamp and the flying carpet. You know, the Disney movie starring Robin Williams.
Her: (exclaimed) YES. The one with “A Whole New World” song right?
Me: You got it.
Her: Oh and who’s Sinbad? And I don’t mean the comedian.
Me: Sinbad is the fictional sailor from Basra. He made seven voyages in total.
Her: (exclaimed) YES. Didn’t he mistake a whale for an island?
Me: Yes, he did.
Her: Wow. And all those stories created by the Persian author Shahrazad.
Me: Actually, Shahrazad is a fictional character. She is a Queen that told her stories to her husband King Shahryar.

For a person who “loves Middle-Eastern tales”, I found her quite ditzy about the subject.

13 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by fashionated on February 6, 2008 at 5:45 am

    lol i propose we create a story for Mustafa Baba as his name sounds waaay cooler than Ali Baba 😛

    Reply

  2. We’re all a little hazy on the details. A Kuwaiti man told me recently that Sindbad was a Kuwaiti legend, not Persian, and he really believed it was true.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sushi on February 6, 2008 at 9:42 am

    Is she blonde? She sounds blonde…

    Reply

  4. hahahaha! Bada3t! Well done!

    Reply

  5. aw, this reminds me of my childhood 🙂 when my mother totally skipped me and read to my older brother instead 😦

    JASSIM YOU SUCK!!

    Reply

  6. Posted by greyshorts on February 6, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    She totally wants you .

    Reply

  7. lol she’s weird

    Reply

  8. She didn’t know ALADDIN…………….?!!!!

    Reply

  9. @Fashionated

    I agree and let’s make it full of sexy and full of actions LOL 😀

    @Intlxpatr

    That man was either lying or got the story wrong.

    @Sushi

    I really don’t want to endorse stereotypes but yes, she was indeed a blond.

    @Marzouq

    Thanks Marzouq. You should see (or listen) some of the conversations I had with Americans. Some of them are extremely…outrageous!!

    @nQ

    Wahhh…that is so unfair. Damn you Jassim.

    @Grayshorts

    You think? Well, I cannot make a move since she has a boyfriend and all. Regardless of that, ditzy girls turn me off.

    @Moey

    I wouldn’t say she is weird, but she’s kinda clueless.

    @Hamitaf

    You should have seen my expression when she said that. I mean, I can understand if she hasn’t heard Sinbad and Ali Baba…but Aladdin…C’mon!!

    Reply

  10. lol! Yeah, she sure doesn’t know much about them! We do that too sometimes don’t we? Admit we like something, when in truth what we want to say is “I’d like to get to know something.”

    Reply

  11. She just said she loved them, she didn’t say she is an expert in them. Come on!

    By the way, I LOVE tennis! 😀

    Reply

  12. @N.

    Yeah, sometimes. But in her case, it was like all the time.

    @Lalla Mira

    But those were extremely basic stuff. I mean you certainly don’t have to be an expert to know Aladdin.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Moustafa on June 21, 2012 at 5:23 am

    that’s not fair… they stole my first name… Moustafa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

