Smelling Alcohol

alcohol-guy.jpg

I confessed a long time ago that I often go “downtown clubbing” for a change of routine or whenever I get invited by my friends. Even though I am not a drinker (not even socially), I do enjoy going to fancy clubs and bars where I enjoy hanging out with my friends (mostly American) and talking with new people (mostly sober people) and even making fun of other people (mostly drunk people). So, you can say my nose is pretty much accustomed to the smell of alcohol whether it’s coming from the bar or from other people’s mouths. But today was another story.

After I had an early dinner with my friend, we decided to watch a movie afterwards to kill some time before meeting the rest of the guys later. So we got the tickets, bought some popcorn, and went to theater and picked our seats. Moments later, before the beginning of the previews, a bunch of guys came to sit next to us, and they were holding soda cups. Few minutes afterward, the guy next to me secretly takes out one of those small alcohol containers from his jacket, and poured its content to the soda cup he was holding, Now, here is the thing: not only the smell of the alcohol he was having was terrible, but it was so God damn powerful. So powerful, that I seriously wanted to throw up. I never smelled anything like it before. My friend was completely bothered by it and we couldn’t change our seats because that would be pretty obvious and we didn’t want to embarrass him. I thought maybe my nose would get accustomed to the smell after some time, but no, the odor was still there, hanging in the air. I couldn’t take it anymore. I told my friend that I’m going to change my seat even if it’s going to humiliate the shit out of him, and thank God we did. Even though we had to sit near the front, I’m so glad I did, because I’m pretty sure I would have fainted from the smell if I didn’t.

When the movie finished and as we were getting out of the theater, an old lady was scolding the same guy for his stupid behavior and how she could smell it even though she was one seat behind him, and the people who sat next to him joined him and stared scolding him as well. The damn bastard had it coming, and that certainly made my day. I’m still wondering what kind of alcoholic beverage he had, but if I had to guess, I’m gonna say it was either tequila or rum since those two are usually mixed with soda.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Tequila/Rum wouldn’t smell that bad .. my guess is that the guy was probably drinking Ethanol or something homemade.

    Reply

  2. That is just disgusting, I hate the smell of alcohol in the wrong places.. if its a in a club or restaurant, then fine it fits… but places like that is just damn annoying!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sushi on February 17, 2008 at 8:00 am

    I can tolerate the smell of Champagne but when it’s mixed with garlic that’s when I literally feel like throwing up. I can’t stand it when my friends abroad do that, it took me once 2 days to get the scent out of my clothes, due to the coal from the barbecue close by the smell stuck like a stubborn blood sucking mite!

    Reply

  4. @K. TheKuwaiti

    LOL, now why I didn’t think of that.

    @Marzouq

    Exactly I wonder what will happen to me if I ever smelled it during class.

    @Sushi

    I know exactly what you mean. I actually experienced that first hand last year when one of my friends invited me for 4th of July BBQ.

    Reply

  5. He couldn’t sit in a movie without having a drink? There has to be something wrong with him :s ya3ni theres a time and place for everything, they don’t serve alcohol in places for a reason!!

    Reply

  6. Posted by forsoothsayer on March 18, 2008 at 12:13 am

    in europe they serve alcohol in movies. and at mcdonalds, so i hear.

    i have myself taken a flask of alcohol for pouring into juice – but only at concerts where alcohol is not being served.

    Reply

  7. @Chirp

    Exactly. Brining alcohol to movie theater is just wrong.

    @Forsoothesayer

    I don’t mind if the person next to me was drinking alcohol, just as long it’s not smelly and vomit-inducing

    Reply

  8. Posted by Sahil on August 31, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    Been in your place before. The smell of alcohol on one drunk in a sober place is enough to make you hate the entire human species!

    Based on my experiences, it must have been dark rum which often smells like cough medicine or a strong flavour of whisky.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

