Read With Me (Spring Edition)

books-_2.jpg

I managed to grab some books and novels to read during the spring. I’d love if somebody would join me and read a book or two from my selection. Who knows, you might find something that interest you. Anyway here are the books that I purchased yesterday:

greek.jpg

A delicious, modern and romantic novel that revolves around missed opportunities, second chances, and lost love. From what I understand, it’s about a man named Peter Russell who shares a flight (New York to LA) with what he considers his soul mate, but unfortunately, he loses the girl’s phone number after they departed. Then the story takes a comedic turn as Peter struggles to find her again.

jane-eyre.jpg

My friends were always amazed that I still haven’t read Jane Eyre despite the fact that I read most of Jane Austen’s novels. I assume most of you have already read it in high school or maybe some time in your life. Thus, I decided to step up and read what is considered the best-written works in English Literature.

saturday-canadian.jpg

After reading McEwan’s Atonement and falling in admiration with the prose and narrative of the author, I decided to read his other works and mostly his greatest. Saturday is considered to be one of them, and it speaks about a neurosurgeon called Henry Perowne who resides in London. According to the short synopsis, Perowne has planned a series of jobs and pleasures culminating in a family dinner in the night of a huge demonstration in the streets of London against the invasion of Iraq; however, the day is disrupted by an encounter with violence that leaves him to summon a greater strength to perceive the life that is dear to him.

norwegianwood.jpg

Haruki Murakami is hailed as one of Japan’s famous novelists, and recently his work has been translated to English. Norwegian Wood is considered one of his finest. The story is set in Tokyo the late 1960s, a time when Japanese students were protesting against the established order. While it serves as the backdrop against which the events of the novel unfold, Murakami (through the eyes of Toru and Midori) portrays the student movement as largely weak-willed and hypocritical. The story also retains a grand love story that is filled with complexity and symbolism.

4 responses to this post.

  1. The Ewan McEwan book looks good..
    Enjoy your reading 😉

    Reply

  2. Soem good books! I do have some lists myself! I need to start reading!!

    Reply

  3. @Phoenix

    Thanks 🙂

    @Marzouq

    But the problem is to find a good time to read. These days, I’m forcing myself to read by going to a coffee shop and spends like 2 to 3 hours reading. It actually works. There’s something about the coffee shop that makes you wanna read more.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Anne on May 1, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    I’ve read Jane Eyre and Norwgian Wood. Here’s my reading list: http://sconesandthequeen.wordpress.com/2009/05/01/books-for-spring/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

