Someone Turned 23

Yes, someone has definitely turned 23 but that someone is still in denial. His “freaking out” phase is starting to creep out on him slowly as he types this post. That someone didn’t do too much that day either. He found out that most of his friends have left to Orlando for some stupid Kuwaiti student convention, so he called as many friends possible who are still in town, and threw himself a dinner party. At that point, he wanted to hang himself because he thought that was the most pathetic thing a person could ever do, but his mom’s words lingered in his mind that she has saved a special present for him when he comes back to Kuwait this summer. He postponed his own execution.

When his friends asked him where he would like to go for a dinner party, he immediately thought of BJ’s Brewhouse. It’s not the best place ever but he didn’t want to be a burden on his friends and take them to an expensive restaurant. On top of that, he was craving pizookie (a warm cookie topped with a scope of vanilla bean) all day long, so he thought that if he couldn’t satisfy his birthday’s wishes, he might at least satisfy his hunger.

In the end, that someone (miraculously) had a great time and he thanked his friends from the bottom of his heart. Now, he’s depressed again that he has 7 years left to be turned 30, and that thought alone scares the bejesus out of him.

20 responses to this post.

  1. Happy Birthday.. Com’on, it is 23, let’s see what you’re gonna do when you hit the quarter of a century like myself ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  2. Heh, happy 23rd. It just goes downhill from there my friend.

    Btw, you study in Florida? I was in Tampa myself a few years ago. What fun!

    Great, now I’m foreignhomesick

    Reply

  3. 1) Happy Birthday

    2) PIzoookiiii looool! Good times!

    3) I never really cared for birthdays, just a day and it went! So I never really cared! hehehe

    just enjoy yourself and who cares! If your one day older or younger!

    Reply

  4. Don’t worry, you’ll get used to it. Happy Birthday ๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply

  5. I am so glad the day turned out great for you, in spite of all your frustrations and ambivalence. 23 is a GREAT year. Enjoy every minute of it!

    Reply

  6. Happy Birthday, and come on it’s only 23 hehehe what will you say when you turn 25? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Reply

  7. Posted by Sushi on April 19, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAPPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!

    Pizooki!??! That sounds like BAZOOKA for some reason. Anyway freak ENJOY ENJOY ENJOY!!! May all your wishes come true ya rab and you graduate with honour and make your mama and papa proud (now I sound like grandma betty).

    Anyway, cheer up dude you’re still a baby. What would I give to be 23/24/25 again =P

    Reply

  8. Happy Birthday!!! I love birthdays but I always disagree with my friends over how old you REALLY are in them.

    I’ve got 9 years to go. Holy crap ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Reply

  9. Happy Birthday ๐Ÿ˜€ the years are gonna fly now, I’m turning 25 next week and I’m still stuck at 22!

    Reply

  10. HAPPY BIRTHDAY TOOO UUU

    Reply

  11. I like the word “bejesus.”

    asad123.wordpress.com

    Reply

  12. Happy Birthday! ๐Ÿ™‚

    the dessert looks delicious! glad you had fun afterall ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  13. Happy Birthday…

    Reply

  14. @Ope

    Thank you Ope. Hopefully, I’ll have the will to face the age of 25…and be happy about it instead of being depressed all over.

    @BoJacob

    Thanks BoJacob. LOL, that’s the last thing I wanted to hear.

    Nope, I live in Colorado but been to Florida before and it’s tons of fun. I cannot see myself studying if I moved there ๐Ÿ˜›

    @Marzouq

    1- Thanks Marzouq ๐Ÿ™‚

    2- It’s like the best dessert ever. White Chocolate Macadamia is my fave.

    3- I’ll try to hold on your advice and become more optimistic at aging.

    @3baid

    Thanks 3baid ๐Ÿ™‚

    Let’s hope so.

    @Intlxpatr

    That’s so sweet. Thanks Intlxpatr.

    Yeah, hopefully this year would turn great for me.

    @Jacqui

    Thank you Jacqui. I’m having nightmares just thinking about it.

    @Sushi

    Thaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaank

    Youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

    This is like the sweetest thing ever. I hope I can live up on both your and mom’s expectations.

    @Adorra

    Thank you Adorra.

    Ahhh, what would I give to just stay 21…such a magical age ๐Ÿ™‚

    @Enigma

    Thanks for the birthday wish Enigma.

    And happy birthday to you too in advance…hope it turns out better than mine.

    @Eshda3wa

    Thank UUUUUUUUUU ๐Ÿ˜€

    @Asad

    It’s one of the words I picked from my American friends. It’s one of my favorite slangs.

    @Yousef

    Thanks YuYu (yalla 6a7at el meyana and started calling you YuYu :D)

    It’s one of my favorite desserts..and it really hits the spot.

    @Nymphadora

    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  15. Many Many Happy returns of the day ! May God bless you !

    Reply

  16. Happy birthday!

    Reply

  17. Posted by vixenfatale on April 23, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    Happy Birthday!!! That bazuka looks yum!!! %D

    Reply

  18. @Grey

    Thank you so much Grey for this genuine birthday wish. Ajma3een inshallah ๐Ÿ™‚

    @N.

    Thanks buddy…really appreciate it ๐Ÿ˜‰

    @Vixen

    Thanks sweety.

    Oh you have no idea how yummy it is ๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply

  19. […] the depressing birthday post that I published a month ago? Well, it seems my parents saved me a little gift for me when I come […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

