RPG Heaven

I just added the following four games to my ever-expanding videogame shelf. I have no idea when I’ll find the time to actually play them, but I think I can manage to do so this weekend if there aren’t good movies to watch or satisfying reasons to go out. Although, considering the fact that most of them are RPGs doesn’t make things easier as most RPG games require extensive commitment from the player. To me, playing an RPG is like reading a novel. That is, I try to finish one RPG game at a time before moving to the next, but I usually indulge myself by playing another game from a different genre on the side. Here’s the order that I am going to play those games:

Console Games

This is actually a “director’s cut” version of the original Persona 3 that was released last year. The game introduces the player a new game scenario called “The Answer” which provides the true ending after the completing the original scenario that is entitled “The Journey”. The game also packs great amount of additional components such as new persona(s), quests, cut-scenes, and customs. If you missed the original Persona 3, don’t dare to miss this one. Click HERE to read my extensive review of the original game. The game is sold for a budget price of $29.99.

I missed the original Okami on the PS2 but thankfully, Capcom has ported the game to the Wii for a second round since it didn’t sell well on the PS2. The game is quite similar to the Zelda franchise and it features a plethora of side quests in addition to the main story. The Wii version exclusively supports 480p resolution and 16:9 widescreen, along with intact waggle. The game also comes on a budget price of $39.99.

Handheld Games

You didn’t expect me to miss a Final Fantasy game now do you? The game mainly focuses around Zack Fair and the events leading up to his demise. Expect to meet lots of new faces and familiar faces on this installment of the series. The game however is more action-orientated than the usual turn-based RPG fair. In another word, it is similar to the Kingdom Hearts series, which is something I highly approve. If you have a PSP and happened to be a Final Fantasy fanatics just like moi, then I’m pretty sure you already have this game to your library.

This game presents a truly fresh air to the action-RPG genre. The first thing you will notice is the distinctive funky art style, which is inspired by the aesthetics of Shibuya youth culture in Japan. Based on the reviews I read, the game features a very addictive battle system and a compelling storyline with fleshed out characters. Definitely a must have for those of us who hungers something original.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sushi on April 24, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    I dont have time to play RPG anymore. I’m still in the first chapters of Final Sonata (heheh I know how much you wanna this one).

    Some of those sound really interesting! I’m not sure if Persona is the same continuation of the game “Persona 2: Eternal Punishment” ? If it is then I probably wont like it. I played the latter and I remember it took me almost 5 hours to kill a boss. Too complicated and I hated the “Rumor” options.

    Reply

  2. You won’t have any time to do anything this those games in your arsenal! I wish I had the time to play RPGs as I did before, but I barely have enough time to get some normal gaming in rather then anything else !

    Reply

  3. @Sushi

    Oh Eternal Sonata

    *faints*

    Oh no, Persona 3 is waaaaaay different and better than the 2nd installment. Seriously, this game is a must.

    @Marzouq

    Nahh, don’t worry about that. I’ll manage 😛

    That’s too bad Marzouq. There are some nice RPG games coming to the 360 this year. You better manage your time accordingly even though it’s really hard in your situation.

    Reply

  4. Did you play Okami? XD

    Reply

  5. @Vixen

    Yes, and I’m still playing it. Such a fantastic game. Expect a review anytime soon.

    Reply

  6. Posted by jilladair on May 12, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    I LOVE OKAMI! I have played it through three times!!!

    http://www.brickfish.com/Pages/Blogs/BlogView.aspx?bid=28294&scid=265&=&rec=1

    Reply

Leave a Reply

