Dolse & Gabbana!

Yesterday, I was strolling in one of the outdoor malls we have in my area, along with my friend Joe. We came into a Sunglass Hut store and we deiced to browse in for a little bit. I picked up a Dolce & Gabbana sunglass that I thought it looked good on me, and actually decided to buy it, but I wanted to confirm its price just in case.

Me: Excuse me, how much is this Dolce & Gabbana sunglass?

I emphasized the “che” while pronouncing Dolce. He looked at me like I just insulted his sister.

The Salesman: Ah, you mean Dolce & Gabbana sir.

He pronounced Dolce as in “Dolse”.

I smiled and tried not be a bitch about it.

Me: No, I’m pretty sure it’s pronounced “Dolche” not “Dolse”. Just like Dulce de Leche ice cream flavor. It’s an Italian brand after all and this is how Italians pronounce it.

The Jerky Salesman: Sir, I’m certain it’s “Dolse”. I’m pretty sure I have the upper hand than you sir, with all due respect.

I was so angry that I wanted to punch him the face. I decided to adapt the whole “snobbish Kuwaiti attitude” and give him a piece of my mind.

Me: Listen you. I grew up on wearing Calvin Klein boxers and Hugo Boss shirts. I wear Prada shoes and Yves Saint-Laurent bags for hiking. I have tens of Lacosta t-shirts and Burberry pants. Not to mention my Roberto Cavalli jackets, Armani jeans, and Gucci accessories I have back home. Hell, even my optical eyeglass is from Versace. Believe me, I know what I am talking about.

The Jerky Salesman: That’s nice sir but I’m afraid you don’t wear “Dolse” & Gabbana brands much often.

That’s it. I wanted to teach this jerk a lesson so I called the attractive blond manager behind the counter.

The Blond Hottie: Can I help you with something?

Me: Miss, what is the name of this brand?

The Blond Hottie: That’s Dolce & Gabbana sir.

I looked at the salesman with a big smirk on my face

Me: Ahh, the inconvenient truth! Now, I would leave you to gloat on your accomplishment today for driving a customer crazy. Here, have your “Dolse” & Gabbana sunglass.

A While Later

Joe: So is it true that you have Calvin Klein boxers, Hugo Boss shirts, Prada shoes and all the stuff you mentioned.

Me: Hmph, do you think I’ll hang out with the likes of you if I had all of those things.

Joe: WHAT?

Me: Oh, sorry. It seems I’m still stuck in the snobby Kuwaiti attitude. Here, let me adapt my true persona.

Me: Ahem. Well, I do have luxury brands clothes and accessories but definitely not in large quantities that I seemed to imply back there. My eyeglass is indeed from Versace though.

15 responses to this post.

  1. hahaha

    u sounded like one of them gay stylist!

    i was expecting u to snap ur fingers any moment there !

    dolse eb 3aina !

    Reply

  2. hahahaha… that was one funny argument, I wouldn’t care..

    I’m happy the hot blondie helped get your point across!

    Reply

  3. LOOL.. that’s was damn funny post 🙂
    God Bless Blondies

    Reply

  4. How pompous of you. I wouldn’t have gone that far but I would have stated that “the customer is always right” and if he wanted to make a sale today he better as well call it dolKAY and gabbana if I wanted him to. I might have added a bitch at the end of that too :-p

    Reply

  5. lool that was funny
    any way whats the picture on the top banner !!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Sushi on April 28, 2008 at 4:20 am

    Looks like they switched roles, I expected the blondie to go “Dolse” and a gay sales person to go “Dolce”. Freak Dolce-Day =P

    Reply

  7. Posted by Q80 In Denver on April 28, 2008 at 9:11 am

    LoL that was funny! good that you insisted on telling him how to pronunce it right especially if he’s a frickin Jerk!

    @Shd3wa : LooooL snapping the finger “E’3taltnee” :p

    Reply

  8. Posted by Fiend on April 28, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    LOL due to the snobbish kuwaiti attitude they actually pronounce the ‘cinnamon dolce’ latte properly at starbucks in kuwait.. ;p

    Dont you just hate it when they look down on you in the US thinking kuwait is a 3rd world country??? Not that i believe in wearing brand names and parading them around or spending $$$$ on some stupid item of clothing whilst some kid in africa cant afford a necessity costing around 5kd if not less..

    Reply

  9. LOOL!! Ashwa she wasn’t a total blonde, chan galat its pronounced Dee and Gee sir …

    Reply

  10. Amusing..hehe how seriously everyone took the matter lol

    Reply

  11. @Eshda3wa

    If I had to act gay just to prove my point then so be it.

    @Marzouq

    Blondes are always available to rescue me in any situation.

    @Ope

    Amen!

    @Adorra

    I was intentionally acting pompous. I was on a short temper that day. I’m usually very docile.

    @n

    What about it?

    @Sushi

    LOL, I know right? Although, the salesman was so not gay. He was a stupid hetero 😛

    @Q80 In Denver

    Dude, some people just won’t come until you give them “the red eye”…if you know what I mean.

    @Friend

    Although most American I met are very friendly and have an incredibly thirst for knowledge, some of them can be just way you describe.

    @Vixen

    LOL, no that’s 7aram. Blondes are really nice people 🙂

    @Jewaira

    Of course. I expect everyone to be serious around here 🙂

    Reply

  12. I was at starbucks earlier and I remembered you, I ordered the Dulce de Luche latte and the philipino guy was like “you mean the dulsayy de looooosay..??” I couldn’t be bothered to argue so early in the morning I was just like “ya whatever!”

    And I thought to myself… what would Angelo say if he were here?

    Reply

  13. @Sunshine

    LOL, I’m really happy that I’ve been remembered.

    Honestly, I wouldn’t have done anything if he didn’t give me a hard time. We are human after all and we all make mistakes. However, if that human being insisted on making the mistake then he should be kicked in the crouch.

    Reply

  14. Guess what.
    I’ve been strolling on Budapest, when some gipsy men came upon me to sell me stolen goods.
    – Look homie, it’s original Dolce&Gabbana! I’ll give it to you for only 5000 Hungarian forints! (about 35 dollars)
    I look at the package: Golden letters saying “Dolse & Gabbana”
    I ask:
    – Original? With S, saying Dolse?
    – Why? How do you expect it in polish?

    😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

