Nightmare Photography

===============
WARNING!
===============

Do not, I repeat, do not scroll further down if you have a weak heart or get terrified easily. The following photographs are exceptionally bloodcurdling and can easily awaken your dormant childhood nightmares. You’ve been warned!

Photographer Joshua Hoffine takes pictures of the things we all love to hate: nightmares. There’s a wide array of horrors in his online portfolio but the selected images below are easily favorites of mine since they awfully resonate to my own childhood nightmares . According to Joshua:

I believe that the horror story is ultimately concerned with the imminence and randomness of death, and the implication that there is no certainty to existence. The experience of horror resides in this confrontation with uncertainty. Horror tells is that our belief in security is delusional, and that monsters are all around us.

Don’t Look Under The Bad!

Don’t Go Downstairs!

Don’t Open The Fridge!

CLICK HERE FOR MORE

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sushi on June 11, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    lol looks like computer work more than photography.

    I used to be 100% convinced a monster was under my bed and is going to grab my feet as soon as I step down but no one believed me =))

    Reply

  2. As a graphic designer, I don’t find these graphic at all!

    Reply

  3. LOOL!!! Ay shay!! A head in the fridge???

    But I did believe that there was a a monster in my closet and under my bed and I remember if I had to get out of bed in the night, I wud run as fast as I cud to the light switch and then I wud be ok!! 😛

    Reply

  4. I’m not at all afraid of this type of imagery! hehe! I wish I could take these types of shots!

    Reply

  5. @Sushi & Vixen

    According to the photographer, most of his monster model were made from wax and colorfully painted on professional models. Photoshopping however might have been used in several of these shots.

    @NoNoWa

    Tell me about it! I used to have this exact fear myself when I was a kid.

    @Marzouq

    Same here. I wish I would have come with this idea or something 😛

    Reply

  6. Posted by Pandabob on January 23, 2011 at 5:34 am

    Im still really scared of some of these thing’s. when i was a kid i was terrified of the dark, so i had to leap out of bed and turn the lamp on 😀 they werent happy night’s 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

