Yoshitaka Amano – The Fantasy That Never Ends

Yoshitaka Amano deserves no introduction for Final Fantasy devotees such as myself. He isn’t the guy who builds the 3D models of the characters in the games, but the person who draws the cover, the booklet, and designs the actual look for the characters, although that only applies for the first six Final Fantasy games. Since Final Fantasy VII, he settled in doing character’s artwork and designing the title logo for Final Fantasy games. Mind you, he doesn’t work in the videogame industry exclusively, his work can be seen in anime, fantasy novels, high class painting exhibits, and even theater design.

Amano’s work has to be one of the finest and intricate designs I’ve seen so far; it has very minimalist and wispy quality to it. It’s elegant, fresh, atmospheric and dynamic. His creation definitely has stood the test of time. In order commemorate his excellent work and his 56th birthday (July 28th), I’m going to change the banner of my blog and replace it with one of his fine work.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sarah on June 19, 2008 at 10:39 am

    you like final fantasy too?!
    angelo..i love you ;<

    ..anyway i liked the old banner better.T’was more enigmatic.Also,graphic design is a hobby so if you need a new banner anytime soon just let me know ^-^.

    Reply

  2. His work is simply ethereal.

    Reply

  3. He surpasses many artists of his trade.. his work is amazing and the originality is nothing short of extraordinary!

    Reply

  4. WOW mashalla amazing work

    Reply

  5. Posted by Sushi on June 21, 2008 at 10:48 am

    Yo… I’m starting this week yallah. But listen I just realized that my memory card has already an old installed file on FFVII. I think I reached ..hmm… when that dark guy is stuck on a tower fighting a boss and cloud has to run up to help him or something like that. Do you think I should play it all over again?

    Reply

  6. the japanese are just so creative and innovative. If i wish anything for the kuwaiti pppl, it is to have that innovative and creative minds of the japanese. Splendid pics.

    Reply

  7. @Sarah

    I’m so glad I found another Final Fantasy fan ^_^

    I’ve changed the banner for your sake. Although, it’s not exactly like the old on but it’s good I guess.

    LOL, thank you very much. I’ve been looking for someone who is willing to design my banners and stuff. I’ll make sure to send you an e-mail when I need it, especially when I get my own web host 😉

    @Vixen

    Indeed. I never get tired of his work at all. There are so much emotions in his paintings.

    @Marzouq

    I can definitely assert that he is one of a kind especially in the videogame industry. I’d love to play a game where all the characters and environments are based on his style.

    @PaLoMino

    His work is absolutely stunning. Mashalla indeed 😉

    @Sushi

    Ahh you are in the part where you are fighting the Turks I presume. Hmmm, well I recommend starting over but if you feel you remember everything that happened prior then I think it’s OK to go on. I’ll probably start playing today or tomorrow, but big chances today 🙂

    @KWT23

    Not only they are creative and innovative but smart and well-educated. Positive stereotypes all over 🙂

    Reply

  8. Posted by comicguru on July 1, 2008 at 11:05 am

    I’m totally a fan of Amano’s work. Have you checked out his latest book? It’s called Mateki the Magic Flute and the artwork it really impressive! It’s a must have for all Amano fans.

    Reply

  9. Posted by maggie on July 7, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    To Comicguru:
    I just picked up his book and it is amazing!! I totally agree! The illustrations are breathtaking!

    to anyone else who has not seen the book I HIGHLY recommend it! great great piece of artwork!

    Reply

  10. Posted by comicguru on July 8, 2008 at 9:32 am

    I just read that Amano is going to be signing copies at Comic Con in San Diego this month and he will be in New York for the Anime Festival! I can’t wait to meet him and get my copy of Mateki signed!

    Reply

  11. Posted by matekefan on August 5, 2008 at 11:17 am

    I got a signed copy of Mateke at Comic Con in New York, Amano is amazing, I can’t wait to see him again at Comic Con next year! His latest book Mateke: the Magic flute is really amazing, everyone should check it out sometime!

    Reply

Leave a comment