The Couple That Mesmerized Me

Observing people isn’t something new to my personality, and God knows how many observations I’ve written so far in my blog. But the thing is, I don’t like to stare at someone for a long time and then “gossip” about it. I believe the definitions of observing and staring are dissimilar, but you might disagree with me on this one.  The other day, I was at the Burger Boutique with several of my friends, just a casual gathering in attempt to catch up with those who graduated from the university. Obviously, I was engaged with all the discussion that was going on around the table. A couple entered the restaurant…

Pause

How fascinating that I was able to recall the following with a vivid memory, or at least made me think of stuff I wouldn’t normally think of.

Resume

The couple was definitely in their mid-twenties, and a quick glance on their ring fingers and there they are, wedding rings. Even though I’m not a materialistic person per se, I couldn’t help but not to notice their gleaming garments. The young woman wore a short skirt that goes beyond the knees but revealed a small amount of skin leg. It had a graceful sweep with not very crinkled but sensual texture that made it comfortable yet elegant. Her top consisted of a fitted, short-sleeved blouse that was finely accessorized with a simple chic necklace. She shared the same length as her husband and her body frame was nicely robust but feminine as well. She didn’t apply too much makeup at all; just a light blush on her angle-like cheeks, pink lipstick that gave a subtle gliding effect and sensual shine, and finally, a small eye makeup that wasn’t excessive. Her hair was a little beyond shoulder length and she gently let it loose to her back. Her facial features were delicate, all of it: lips, eyes, nose, and ears. She wasn’t what you call a sexy woman, but she certainly was beautiful and cute: my ideal combination.

The husband was genuinely handsome, and that’s a fact I cannot hide. He was slightly above average height with a fit (presumably athletic) body, but he wasn’t buffed. He wore long pants that nicely extend his length, with a dark brown leather belt. His Banana Republic-esque shirt was fitted and tucked in and nicely hugged his upper body. He wore slightly loose thin tie with an open collar, which gave him a chic casual look rather than an intimidating cooperate feel. He moved his long shirtsleeves a little beyond his wrists, but instead of rolling it, he buttoned it. He had a dark, black short hair that had a nice shiny texture, thanks to a small application of a hair cream. His face gave a nice Gulf (Khaleejy) modern look; big brown eyes, long and straight nose, small lips, and long but not bushy eyebrows. His goatee was nicely trimmed and thin, coupled with hidden (not quite apparent) dimples. He was easy on the eyes.

Pause

Yes, I realize what you are thinking? You think I went overboard with this and maybe coming out slightly creepy. Actually I think I have a talent in describing people vividly even if I met them for a brief moment, however; I wish I had the same talent in recalling people’s names.

Resume

Sitting quite adjacent from their table, I couldn’t help but to subtly look at them but I wasn’t able to hear their voice but only when they had their order taken. The man spoke a standard American English (either he studied aboard or was taught English from his early childhood) when he was talking to the waitress; the wife wasn’t bad either, she had a sassy Kuwaiti accent but wasn’t too obnoxious that you wanted to kill yourself. The couple certainly engulfed my heart, and actually made me want to get married. Sure, I had many discussions regarding marriage but I wasn’t completely swept by the idea that it will happen anytime soon, simply because I want to establish myself professionally before tying the knots. However, I cannot help that I didn’t think about it excessively that day. The couple seemed quite in love, quite modern, and quite compatible. It was a long time since I wanted to be in somebody else’s shoes, but I certainly didn’t jinx them or was all evil eye-like. I cannot wait to be at that point of my life.

Pause

I really hope that wasn’t too creepy or weird. I would hope you consider this post as inspirational.

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by greyshorts on July 13, 2008 at 11:49 am

    I hate them

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sushi on July 13, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    I know what you mean. It’s very rare to see those types of couples and its nice to see two people comptible and happy in matrimony. It’s very hard to find someone you can easily click with.

    Allah yhaneehom o yarzigik enshallah the same and even better =)

    Your observation isn’t creepy at all. It just reflects your passion for writing.

    Reply

  3. Aside from the well written and described features of the couple, i like the Pause/Resume effect in the post 😛 NICE/!

    Reply

  4. Its nice to see people like that who are happy..

    Reply

  5. they’re cheating on their other halfs. No couple could fit that well together …… this is Kuwait after all.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Sushi on July 13, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    Update:

    I’m in Cosmo Canyon, Rex XIII’s hometown. I’m almost done to head off to GI Cave.

    You’re in Junon, ahead of you is:

    Shinra Boat
    Costa Del Sol
    Mt. Corel
    North Corel
    Gold Saucer
    Corel Prison
    The Chocobo Race
    Gongaga Village

    Then you reach me =P Yallah catch me if you can, I’m taking a few days off 😉

    Reply

  7. Posted by Uturn on July 13, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    I knew a couple who dressed, looked, exactly like you described, and who dined in all the hip places and whom you might call hip modern Kuwaiti happy-looking couple.

    But they’re divorced now.

    Reply

  8. woow
    i cant wait to be like that one day

    Reply

  9. that sounds nice : ) It’s not totally not worth it if you’re not ready, glad you’re waiting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

