An Upcoming Dubai Trip

I shall be leaving Kuwait and heading to the lovely land (but radically hot and hopefully dust-free) of Dubai this upcoming Saturday with my aunt and her delightful daughters. Apparently, they designated me as their “big man” for the trip but I’m pretty sure that will change as soon as we land in Dubai. You see, my female cousins are complete control freaks and I doubt any of them will lend me an ear once we get there, despite their attempt in convincing they’d hear all what I’ve got to say. And my aunt isn’t an angel as well. She was like “Yes Angelo, we would love to have you with us as someone who speaks fluent English and competent such as yourself”, but I know behind those glistering eyes and this forged smile, there is a woman praising her well-schemed accomplishment in recruiting a slave to carry all the luggage and the countless shopping bags (don’t worry, I love my aunt to pieces and I wasn’t making a fun of her. Well, maybe a little). But hey, considering I’m a shopaholic myself, and the fact I’m getting a free ticket, free food and a free room, I’m really getting a nice bargain by the end of the day.

Now, I shall resort my aunt’s tactics on you and abuse your wisdom as well. The fact is, I haven’t been to Dubai since 2003 (i.e. the year that I went to the US for college), and I’m pretty sure my outdated knowledge won’t help me at all in 2008 Dubai. So, I turn to you to recommend me nice tourist places (from malls to restaurants) that are new, hip, and somewhat family-friendly. Sure, I can google for all the nice places and restaurants, but I found that information from a first hand traveler is more reliable and safe.

The comment section is all yours…

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sushi on July 16, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    I hope there aren’t too many tourists there. It sucks when its packed. Enjoy it, you deserve it =)

    Reply

  2. Enjoy! There is a lot to do there. go to Mall of the Emirates for the movies.. and if you want a good steak house then go to the Rib Room.. Also try Meat Company at Madinat Jumeirah

    Reply

  3. Posted by byuleta on July 17, 2008 at 5:19 am

    guess i’ll recommend mall of emirates for shopping then try delicious seafoods from
    fish and company located in al ghurair

    Reply

  4. LOL – Enjoy your aunt and cousines, and tote them bags! Load them bales! (Take a good book with you and meet them in a central cafe.)

    Reply

  5. Restaurants:
    1- Anise restaurant in Intercontinental Hotel in Festival City.
    2-The Noodle House. Can be found in Madinat Jumeirah, City Center, Burjman and The Emirates Towers.
    3-Asha’s. In Wafi Mall. Much much better than Kuwait’s Asha’s.
    4-I heard there is a great lobster restaurant in Grand Hyatt Hotel.
    5- The Meat Company in Madinat Jumeirah.
    6- Their Mcdonad’s is like the best in the world (don’t laugh! its true! ohhh kaifik!)
    7-Market Cafe in Grand Hyatt, they have the best cheesecake ever. well, not the best, but one of the best.
    8- Marina walk, Dubai Marina or Dubai Marine, I don’t know what its called exactly, but its a nice place, looks like Marina crescent with lots of cafes outside.
    9-Borders (DUH) in Emirates Mall.
    10-Armani Cafe in Emirates Mall (its not a must at all, bs lazim we go there sometimes 3ashan isimna re7na)
    11-Traders Vicks in Madinat Jumeirah, I haven’t tried it yet but people seem to love it.
    12-whatever you do, don’t try their Johnny Rockets, it sucks.
    13- Tuscana, italian restaurant in Madinat Jumeirah.

    Malls:
    Emirates Mall is a must.
    Wafi (once you hear they’re going there, you stay in, claim to be sick or whatever)
    Burjman (Magroudy book shop)
    City Center (ako Borders hnak, ta7at mad3oos)
    Ibn Batuta Mall (good cinemas and crepes)

    Have a great time 🙂

    Reply

  6. Posted by Sarah on July 22, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    your actual name is angelo? cool..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

