A Night With Bush And A Reading With Al Aswany

Earlier tonight, I was able to catch the premier of Oliver Stone‘s controversial biopic film W., which stars Josh Brolin as the current president of the United States, George W. Bush. The theater was generously packed (almost full) but what was most interesting to me was the reception I perceived from the audience, especially since I live in a predominately democratic, liberal county in the state of Colorado. Some of the attendants were waiting for the right, “comedic” opportunity to laugh at Bush, and others were deceitfully sympathetic regarding his character and actions in the film. I’m going to save the details for the review (which I’m going to postpone it for tomorrow since I’m quite tired right now) but the thing is, I really had a nice time watching the movie, and it actually made me think and reflect regarding the real George Bush.

My next surprise is when I found out Alaa Al Aswany‘s famous novel, Chicago, being both translated and published in English. I heard great things regarding the novel from many of my friends who read the Arabic version, which eventually  led me to buy the book when I went to Dubai last summer, but unfortunately never had the chance to read it. In fact, it is still probably nicely sealed and carefully placed in my bookshelf back home. If The Yacoubian Building is any indication (since my mom gave it her seal of approval), I think I’m going to enjoy reading this one. Thankfully, I just finished Charles Bukowski’s Post Office so the book wouldn’t have come at a right time than this.

14 responses to this post.

  1. i love the cover art.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Die-Na-Mite on October 21, 2008 at 10:49 am

    I didn’t really like The Yacoubian Building “movie”. I didn’t see the point behind it really. I think that’s due to amount of brutalizing cuts of scenes.

    Reply

  3. Hi Angelo, sorry i’m saying this in a comment since i didn’t find a contact page (same thing with Z). Are there any thing or features you’d like to see in my new site? And are you going to Anime Expo in July 2009?

    Reply

  4. wow : ) and i thought i hadn’t posted something in a long while ;p

    Reply

  5. Hi,
    you have a very amusing blog here,
    My best friend is from Kuwait!

    Reply

  6. أHi, I’ve tagged you at my blog…

    Reply

  7. Angelo.. are you ok?

    Reply

  8. so you’ve changed the layout,, means you’re alive right??

    Reply

  9. Posted by justinslem4 on April 29, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    If you have Pokemon Platinum on the nintendo DS I’m have a wi-fi battle! More info at:
    http://remakeofpokemongoldandsilver.wordpress.com

    Reply

  10. Спасибо, пост действительно толково написан и по делу, есть что почерпнуть.

    Reply

  11. Спасибо за пост. Позновательно.

    Reply

  12. Классная статья – спасибо!

    Reply

  13. I negatively concern activity G. Bush on a post of the president, but will definitively judge time.

    Reply

  14. i like the cover!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

