CD Review: OneRepublic – Dreaming Out Loud

onerepublic_dreamingoutloud.jpg

My anticipation has been really high for this group every since I heard them in their smash single “Apologize” in Timbaland’s Shock Wave. I’m glad to say this time around my expectations have been met and I feel like this is one of the most solid CDs that I have heard in awhile. Although, I have to admit that I have a slight disappointment with this album. They’re signed to Timbaland’s label yet I don’t feel like Timbaland was anywhere on this album. Nevertheless, this is a great album that I urge rock and alternative fans to obtain.

“Say (All I Need)” represents a great start of this album. The track keeps the rock element throughout but becomes more evident more on the second half of the track when the track evolves from the smooth groove to a more rockin’ out type vibe. “Stop & Stare” is my favorite track of this fine album. The beat is pretty basic but the lyrics kinda painted a picture for me especially when I got to the chorus: “Stop and stare, I think I’m movin; but I go nowhere”. “Apologize” is the one that started all but this remix might not be as appealing as the original Timbaland; Same lyrics but it’s more piano heavy this time around. “Mercy” is another great track the pushes the lead singer Ryan Tedder to the limit. And finally, “All We Are” has a great lyrical imaginary that makes it so appealing in a television format, and the beat is excellent as well. In the end, I consider this album a great example for a debut album. It’s very powerful and has a great range of rock elements that should please most rock fanatics. A worthy purchase indeed and a great start for OneRepublic.

Definite Downloads

1. Stop & Stare
2. Say (All I Need)
3. Apologize
4. Mercy
5. All We Are

~Rating~

rating_5star_45.gif

5 responses to this post.

  1. Nice..

    Reply

  2. Thanks a bunch, I was wondering about it and now I’m getting a few tracks!! 🙂

    Reply

  3. @BloBoz

    Thanks..

    @Marzouq

    You are very welcomed…hope you enjoy the tracks 😀

    Reply

  4. Great review, I haven’t heard all these tracks but after reading what you wrote I’ll listen to them! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Posted by Ulwan on May 24, 2008 at 5:57 am

    great. i love ur reviews. don’t know why professional reviewers give them a low score.

    i love OneRepublic and got their debut album. soo touchy tracks on them.

    Reply

Leave a comment