When Hollywood Leading Men Cry

Sometimes the simplest ideas are the most profound. Photographer Sam Taylor-Wood‘s project “Crying Men” consists of images of celebrities, all men, simply sobbing. In one way or another, the subject of each photo is a masculine figure, making the heartbreak etched in the faces of those who were able to summon a memory painful enough to elicit a convincing reaction all the more poignant.

According to Wood:

“Some of the men cried before I even finished loading the camera, but others found it really difficult. People can decide for themselves which they think are the authentic tears and which they think are fake. It’s about the idea of taking these big, masculine men and showing a different side.”

Here are my absolute favorites:

Click HERE & HERE for more!

8 responses to this post.

  1. This is cool, I liked this post because I have never heard of any of his work before this. He does some pretty interesting stuff. I like the photos a lot, so much emotion!

    Reply

  2. i like the idea
    bs laish kelhum have their face covered!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sushi on June 27, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    I think men should cry more often in order to be more human LOL jk =P

    Reply

  4. very cool photos they all seem to have been set up so that the background plays a role in the photo.

    Reply

  5. Wow, that is a really nice idea and I really like the photography done! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Posted by chichana on June 28, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    …I don’t like it when men cry, seriously it hurts too much. I get so upset. They’re supposed to be this stoic strong person, invincible…and then they cry, and I know, I know, they’re only crying because it must have hurt bad.

    I wanna hug Robin William and Forest Whitaker :s

    Reply

  7. Posted by Sushi on July 5, 2008 at 4:09 am

    Angelo, I keep getting errors when I try to email u so I’m forced to post here. Anyway, I’m starting today (FFVII) – I’ll check my memory card and tell u which point saved I’m at.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Kay on November 21, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    From what movie is the picture of Tim Roth crying? I can’t figure it out… but he is so convincing!!

    Reply

Leave a comment